NEWS RELEASE

"It is Written" was the theme of the 2016 Annual Conference of the Association of Free Lutheran Congregations (AFLC), which met at the denomination's retreat center near Osceola, Wisconsin, on June 14-17. Approximately 500 members gathered for the sessions, which were a blend of business and inspiration.

Rev. Lyndon Korhonen, Plymouth, Minnesota, was reelected president on the first ballot for his second term. The other two national officers, Rev. Peter Franz, Vice-President, Maple Grove, Minnesota, and Rev. Brian Davidson, Secretary, Dickinson, North Dakota, were also reelected.

Other elections: Rev. Tim Johnson, Pipestone, Minnesota, to the Coordinating Committee; Mr. Gary Erickson, Dalton, Minnesota, and Rev. Martin Horn (reelected), Kenyon, Minnesota, to the AFLC Schools Board of Trustees; Dr. Lyle Mattson, Greenbush, Minnesota, to the World Missions Committee; Rev. Dale Finstrom, Fertile, Minnesota, to the Home Missions Committee; Rev. Dennis Norby, Enderlin, North Dakota, to the Board of Publications and Parish Education; Mrs. Sharon Rykhus, reelected to the Youth Board; Rev. Richard Ramsbacher, Springfield, Missouri, to the Evangelism Commission; Pastor Brad Putnam, Duluth, Minnesota, to the Benefits Board.

Mr. Ken Penn, Rapid City, South Dakota, and Mr. Roger Benson, Minneapolis, Minnesota, were elected to the Budget Analysis Committee, charged with reviewing the proposed budgets and financial conditions of the various AFLC ministries.

A major item of business was the consideration of a possible new mission field in Switzerland, where a pastor from our sister association in Brazil has organized a Portuguese-speaking congregation.

The Board of Publications and Parish Education introduced the latest book in the AFLC Heritage Series, a history of our mission work in Brazil, entitled "Footprints of the Faithful," by Mr. Loiell Dyrud.

A general resolution was also passed, affirming the commitment of the AFLC to the Word of God and its teachings concerning human sexuality and gender identity, calling upon congregations and individual members to resist unscriptural influences and offer "God-pleasing, Word-centered remedies and assistance" to those who might be confused.

Four new pastors were ordained during the closing service of the conference: Rev. Jon Langness, who has accepted a call to Deshler, Nebraska; Rev. Brandon Marschner, to Culbertson and Brockton, Montana; Rev. Aaron Olson, to Arlington, South Dakota; and Rev. David Ryerson, to Ishpeming, Michigan.

The 2017 Annual Conference will meet next June on the campus of the AFLC seminary and Bible school in Plymouth, Minnesota, and will include a special emphasis on the 500th Anniversary of the Lutheran Reformation.

(Attending the conference from this area were.....)